EMF Senior Scholars elected to National Academy of Sciences

EMF Senior Scholars in Aging Ben Barres (Stanford University School of Medicine, Senior Scholar in 2011), and Nicholas Spitzer (University of California - San Diego, Senior Scholar in 2010); and EMF Senior Scholars in Infectious Disease William R. Jacobs, Jr. (Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Senior Scholar in 2001), Beth Levine (University of Texas SW Medical Center at Dallas, Senior Scholar in 2004), and Daniel A. Portnoy (University of California - Berkeley, Senior Scholar in 2004) have been elected members of the National Academy of Sciences.

The Academy announced the election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates at the Academy’s annual meeting on April 30, 2013. Those elected bring the total number of active members to 2,179 and the total number of foreign associates to 437. Foreign associates are nonvoting members of the Academy, with citizenship outside the United States.The National Academy of Sciences is an honorific society of distinguished scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and their use for the general welfare. It was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation signed by Abraham Lincoln that calls on the Academy to act as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology. For further information, see: NASonline.org