EMF Senior Scholars Honored as Recipients of "Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences"

Ellison Medical Foundation Senior Scholars Titia de Lange, MD, PhD (The Rockefeller University, 1999 Senior Scholar in Aging), Robert A. Weinberg, PhD (MIT, 2003 Senior Scholar in Aging), and Cornelia I. Bargmann, PhD (The Rockefeller University, 2012 Senior Scholar in Neuroscience) are among eleven researchers named as inaugural recipients of the Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences. The newly launched "Breakthrough Prize" was created to recognize excellence in research aimed at curing intractable diseases and extending human life. The prize will be administered by the Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences Foundation, a not-for-profit corporation dedicated to advancing breakthrough research, celebrating scientists, and generating excitement about the pursuit of science as a career. Each of the eleven Breakthrough Prize winners will receive $3 million in recognition for "Groundbreaking Achievements in Life Science Research."

For more information: http://www.breakthroughprizeinlifesciences.org/news1