Joan Ruderman and Marc Tessier-Lavigne Join Scientific Advisory Board

The Ellison Medical Foundation is pleased to announce that Joan V. Ruderman and Marc Tessier-Lavigne have joined the Scientific Advisory Board as of January 1, 2013.

Joan V. Ruderman, Ph.D

Dr. Ruderman is the President and Director of the Marine Biological Laboratory (MBL), and the Marion V. Nelson Professor of Cell Biology at Harvard Medical School. Ruderman is widely known for her work on the molecular mechanisms that regulate cell division, including pioneering research on cyclins, proteins that drive cells through the cell division cycle. More recently she has investigated environmental contaminants that can mimic estrogen and may thereby increase the risk of developing breast cancer and other hormone-dependent cancers. Her scientific contributions have been recognized by her election to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Society for Microbiology, as well as by the New York University/Dart Award in Biotechnology. She has served on the Scientific Advisory Board of Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research at M.I.T. and the Medical Advisory Board of Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

Marc Tessier-Lavigne, Ph.D

Dr. Tessier-Lavigne is the President, Carson Family Professor, and Head of the Laboratory of Brain Development and Repair at The Rockefeller University. He is a pioneer in the study of the molecular signals that direct the formation of neural circuits in the brain during embryonic development. His laboratory at Rockefeller also studies nerve cell responses to injury and the mechanisms underlying nerve cell death with the goal of developing therapies for brain injury and neurodegenerative disease. Prior to joining Rockefeller, he served as Executive Vice President for Research and Chief Scientific Officer at Genentech, a leading biotechnology company. Dr. Tessier-Lavigne is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and its Institute of Medicine, a fellow of The Royal Society, a fellow of The Royal Society of Canada, a fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences (UK) and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Henry G. Friesen International Prize in Health Research, the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Medal for Outstanding Contributions to Biomedical Research, the Ameritec Prize, the Ipsen Foundation Prize in Neuronal Plasticity, the Viktor Hamburger Award of the International Society for Developmental Neuroscience, the Wakeman Award, the Robert Dow Neuroscience Award, the Reeve-Irvine Research Medal, the Gill Distinguished Award in Neuroscience and the W. Alden Spencer Award.