EMF Senior Scholars elected to National Academy of Sciences

EMF Senior Scholars in Aging Nancy Bonini (University of Pennsylvania, Senior Scholar in 2009), Ronald DePinho (University of Texas MD Anderson, Senior Scholar in 2003) and Se-Jin Lee (Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, Senior Scholar in 2011); and EMF Senior Scholars in Infectious Disease John Carlson (Yale University, Senior Scholar in 2004) and Jorge Galan (Yale University School of Medicine, Senior Scholar in 2004) have been elected members of the National Academy of Sciences. The Academy announced the election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates at the Academy’s annual meeting in Washington DC on May 1, 2012. The National Academy of Sciences is an honorific society of distinguished scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and their use for the general welfare. It was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation signed by Abraham Lincoln that calls on the Academy to act as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology. For further information, see; www.nasonline.org.