EMF Senior Scholars elected to National Academy of Sciences

EMF Senior Scholars in Aging George Church (Harvard Medical School, Senior Scholar in 2008) and Dan Gottschling (Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Senior Scholar in 1998); and EMF Senior Scholars in Infectious Disease Alexander Johnson (University of California at San Francisco, Senior Scholar in 2004) and Carl Nathan (Weill Cornell Medical College, Senior Scholar in 2003) have been elected members of the National Academy of Sciences. The Academy announced the election of 72 new members and 18 foreign associates at the Academy’s annual meeting in Washington DC on May 3, 2013. The National Academy of Sciences is an honorific society of distinguished scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and their use for the general welfare. It was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation signed by Abraham Lincoln that calls on the Academy to act as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology. For further information, see; www.nasonline.org.