September 24, 2013
The Ellison Medical Foundation is pleased to announce the New Scholar in Aging awardees for 2013. They are:
Murat Acar, PhD
Yale University
Systems Biology Approaches to Single-Cell Aging by using Novel Microfluidic Platforms
Michael Ailion, PhD
University of Washington
Modulation of the Aging Process by the Release of Neuroendocrine Signals from Dense-Core Vesicles
Nicola Allen, PhD
Salk Institute for Biological Studies
Astrocyte Regulation of Synaptic Plasticity and Repair in the Aging Brain
Adam J. Auton, PhD
Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University
Characterization of Deleterious Variation in Centenarian Genomes
Benoit Biteau, PhD
University of Rochester
Cell Fate Decisions and Differentiation in the Aging Drosophila Intestine
Robert K. Bradley, PhD
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Inhibition of RNA Quality Control in Differentiating and Aging Cells
Hu Cang, PhD
Salk Institute for Biological Studies
Develop Novel Single-Molecule Imaging Tools to Study Chromatin Modifiations in Cellular Sensecence
Stirling Churchman, PhD
Harvard Medical School
Mitochondrial Gene Expression Landscape of S. Cerevisiae During Aging and Life Span Extension
May 1, 2013

EMF Senior Scholars in Aging Ben Barres (Stanford University School of Medicine, Senior Scholar in 2011), and Nicholas Spitzer (University of California - San Diego, Senior Scholar in 2010); and EMF Senior Scholars in Infectious Disease William R. Jacobs, Jr. (Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Senior Scholar in 2001), Beth Levine (University of Texas SW Medical Center at Dallas, Senior Scholar in 2004), and Daniel A. Portnoy (University of California - Berkeley, Senior Scholar in 2004) have been elected members of the National Academy of Sciences.

The Academy announced the election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates at the Academy’s annual meeting on April 30, 2013. Those elected bring the total number of active members to 2,179 and the total number of foreign associates to 437. Foreign associates are nonvoting members of the Academy, with citizenship outside the United States.The National Academy of Sciences is an honorific society of distinguished scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and their use for the general welfare. It was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation signed by Abraham Lincoln that calls on the Academy to act as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology. For further information, see:

April 25, 2013

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation's most prestigious honorary societies and an independent policy research center that conducts multidisciplinary studies of complex and emerging problems, has announced its 2013 Class of Fellows. Ellison Medical Foundation scholars included in this group include Shelley L. Berger, PhD of Stanford University School of Medicine, Senior Scholar in Aging in 2010; Martin J. Blaser, MD of New York University School of Medicine, Senior Scholar in Global Infectious Disease in 2002; Phyllis M. Wise, PhD of University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Senior Scholar in Aging in 2001; and Marc Tessier-Lavigne, PhD and President of Rockefeller University, Senior Scholar in Aging in 2012. Academy Fellows across disciplines of science, the arts, business, and public affairs work together to provide analyses of social, political, and intellectual topics that challenge our society. For further information, see:

April 24, 2013

The Gairdner Foundation announced recently that Dr. Stephen J. Elledge, the Gregor Mendel Professor of Genetics and Medicine at Harvard Medical School, and Ellison Medical Foundation Senior Scholar in Aging in 1998, is one of six recipients of the prestigious 2013 Canada Gairdner Awards. Dr. Elledge was honored with the Canada Gairdner International Award for his elucidation of the DNA damage response as a signaling network that controls DNA repair and genomic stability. In work supported by the Ellison Medical Foundation, Elledge studied the connection between telomeres, DNA damage, and cancer.

The awards, which are presented annually, recognize scientists responsible for some of the world’s most significant medical discoveries. Three other scientists, Dr. Harvey J. Alter, NIH, Dr. Daniel W. Bradley, Centre for Disease Control (retired), and Sir Gregory Winter, University of Cambridge also received the Canada Gairdner International Award. The Canada Gairdner Global Health Award is being presented to Dr. King K. Holmes of the University of Washington, and James C. Hogg of the University of British Columbia is the recipient of the Canada Gairdner Wightman Award. Each of the six 2013 Gairdner Award recipients will receive a $100,000 cash prize, which will be presented in Toronto in October. For further information, see:

April 10, 2013

Since 1998, The Ellison Medical Foundation has been actively engaged in supporting fundamental research on the Biology of Aging and age-related disease mechanisms. The Foundation is now pleased to announce an additional funding opportunity under the Foundation's new Neuroscience Scholar Awards Program. Like the Foundation's ongoing Biology of Aging Scholar Awards program, the Neuroscience Scholars program is intended to provide researchers with the support and resources to develop innovative research programs aimed at gaining insight into the fundamental molecular and cellular mechanisms that underlie normal biological function, and when dysfunctional, lead to illness. Through a series of focused workshops, the EMF Scientific Advisory Board has sought to identify topics in fundamental Neuroscience research that hold promise for significant scientific progress and yet the research funding to support that progress is inadequate. As a result of this review, the SAB has chosen an initial focus for the Neuroscience Scholars program on the "Neuroscience of Aggressive Behavior". The goal of this program is to stimulate and nurture innovative research that seeks to gain an understanding of the neurobiological basis of aggression and related behaviors, and of the environmental and genetic factors that contribute to violence and anti-social disorders. A first round of Neuroscience Scholar awards were made in early 2012 and the Foundation is now soliciting applications for up to five New Scholar and five Senior Scholar awards in 2013. While it is anticipated that other focused topics in Neuroscience research may be chosen for support in future years, for the 2013 application cycle, only projects that are explicitly directed toward the fundamental neurobiology of aggression and closely related behaviors will be considered for funding. A candidate in the first three (3) years of an independent research career will be considered eligible for a New Scholar award and will be evaluated separately. All other applicants are eligible for the Senior Scholar award (independent of faculty rank or tenure status). For the 2013 competition, candidates must hold regular full time appointments (tenure or non-tenure) on the faculty of the sponsoring institution by June 15, 2013. Each New Scholar award will be made for up to $100,000 per year, total costs, for a four year period.