Scientific Advisory Board

Arnold J. Levine, Ph.D., Chairman

Dr. Levine is a Professor at The Cancer Institute of New Jersey, Robert Wood Johnson School of Medicine, New Brunswick and at the School of Natural Sciences at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, New Jersey. He is a leading authority on the molecular basis of cancer and co-discoverer of the p53 tumor suppressor protein, one of the body's most important defenses against many forms of cancer. He is a past-President of The Rockefeller University, a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, and recently received the first Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research.

Helen M. Blau, Ph.D.

Dr. Blau is the Donald E. and Delia B. Baxter Professor, the Director of the Baxter Laboratory in Genetic Pharmacology, and the Director of Gene Therapy Technology at Stanford University School of Medicine. She is a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and Harvard University’s Board of Overseers. She has received many awards for her work in aging and stem cell research.

Martin Raff, M.D.

Dr. Raff is Emeritus Professor in the Biology Department and MRC Laboratory for Molecular Cell Biology and Cell Biology at University College London. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society and of Academia Europaea, a foreign member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, past president of the British Society of Cell Biology, and a foreign associate of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and served as an adviser to the NAS in formulating its Guidelines for Human Embryonic Stem Cell Research (2005). He received The Biochemical Society Award in 2006.

Joan V. Ruderman, Ph.D

Dr. Ruderman is the President and Director of the Marine Biological Laboratory (MBL), and the Marion V. Nelson Professor of Cell Biology at Harvard Medical School. Ruderman is widely known for her work on the molecular mechanisms that regulate cell division, including pioneering research on cyclins, proteins that drive cells through the cell division cycle. More recently she has investigated environmental contaminants that can mimic estrogen and may thereby increase the risk of developing breast cancer and other hormone-dependent cancers. Her scientific contributions have been recognized by her election to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Society for Microbiology, as well as by the New York University/Dart Award in Biotechnology. She has served on the Scientific Advisory Board of Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research at M.I.T. and the Medical Advisory Board of Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

Gary Ruvkun, Ph.D.

Dr Ruvkun is Professor of Genetics and Hans-Hermann Schoene Distinguished Investigator at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Ruvkun’s research has explored two major themes: the regulation by microRNA genes and other small RNAs, and control of longevity and metabolism by insulin and other endocrine pathways. Dr. Ruvkun’s honors and awards include the Benjamin Franklin Medal from the Franklin Institute, the Gairdner International Award, the Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research, the Dan David Prize for Aging research (with Cynthia Kenyon), the Ipsen Foundation Longevity Prize, and membership in the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Marc Tessier-Lavigne, Ph.D

Dr. Tessier-Lavigne is the President, Carson Family Professor, and Head of the Laboratory of Brain Development and Repair at The Rockefeller University. He is a pioneer in the study of the molecular signals that direct the formation of neural circuits in the brain during embryonic development. His laboratory at Rockefeller also studies nerve cell responses to injury and the mechanisms underlying nerve cell death with the goal of developing therapies for brain injury and neurodegenerative disease. Prior to joining Rockefeller, he served as Executive Vice President for Research and Chief Scientific Officer at Genentech, a leading biotechnology company. Dr. Tessier-Lavigne is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and its Institute of Medicine, a fellow of The Royal Society, a fellow of The Royal Society of Canada, a fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences (UK) and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Henry G. Friesen International Prize in Health Research, the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Medal for Outstanding Contributions to Biomedical Research, the Ameritec Prize, the Ipsen Foundation Prize in Neuronal Plasticity, the Viktor Hamburger Award of the International Society for Developmental Neuroscience, the Wakeman Award, the Robert Dow Neuroscience Award, the Reeve-Irvine Research Medal, the Gill Distinguished Award in Neuroscience and the W. Alden Spencer Award.


Founding Leadership

Joshua Lederberg, Ph.D., (1925-2008) Founding Chairman

Dr. Lederberg was President-Emeritus and Sackler Foundation Scholar at The Rockefeller University, New York. His life long research, for which he received the Nobel Prize in 1958, was in genetic structure and function in microorganisms. Among his many honors, he was a member of the National Academies of Science, and was awarded the National Medal of Science in 1989. He had long had a keen interest in international health, and was actively engaged in the building of international collaboration and collective defenses against emerging infections of global impact. In 2006, Dr. Lederberg was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom Award. He was also awarded the American Federation for Aging Research Award of Distinction in the same year. Dr. Lederberg was instrumental in the creation of The Ellison Medical Foundation at the behest of Lawrence Ellison. He organized the Scientific Advisory Board in 1997 and served as Chair until his death in February, 2008.